, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The have not:

No Asian country has a direct carbon tax implemented. In Japan, 9 industry groupings opposed the carbon tax stating that such an implementation would damage the economy, which is already among the world’s most energy efficient. Canada and the United States of America do not have any federal carbon tax, although some states have implemented a direct carbon tax.  New Zealand’s carbon tax was opposed during a federal election ending with the party defeat in the election. Taiwan has also taken a stand against a direct carbon tax.

The have:

South Africa has a carbon tax on the purchase of new vehicles a once off payment that is still being argued against by industry for the exemption of commercial vehicles. Australia and Costa Rica have a direct carbon tax introduced.

The alternate tax:

In Europe, a number of countries have imposed energy taxes or energy taxes based partly on carbon content. These include Denmark, Finland, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, and the UK. None of these countries has been able to introduce a uniform carbon tax for fuels in all sectors. South Korea also has a substitution of a carbon tax with the current transportation tax.

What does this mean besides dictating where we live depending on our pro-carbon tax or against carbon tax stance?

An article on the Institute of Public Affairs web page surmises, “There is no possibility that this wasteful funding of the EU at Australian electricity consumers’ expense will mean any reduction of emissions on a global level.

It is time to recognise that the carbon tax is a total failure of policy and to dismantle it before it does further damage to the economy in general and to consumers in their power bills.”